Back to Top

About us

The Center for Digital Participation is supported by five chairs at the Institute for Communication and Media Studies at the University of Leipzig. Prof. Dr. Anne Bartsch (Empirical Communication and Media Research), Prof. Dr. Sonja Ganguin (Media Competence and Appropriation Research), Prof. Dr. Christian Pieter Hoffmann (Communication Management and Political Communication), Prof. Dr. Christian Pentzold (Media and Communication Studies) and Jun. Prof. Dr. Sven Stollfuß (Digital Media Culture) combine diverse disciplinary and methodological approaches and have a comprehensive research record on central aspects of digital participation.


Their cooperation in the Center for Digital Participation enables a particularly broad access to the prerequisites, forms and consequences of digital participation. It opens up diverse opportunities for cooperation in research and practice.


The team at the Center for Digital Participation offers sociological, economic, psychological, educational and cultural science perspectives on digital participation. The interdisciplinary analysis, the derivation of theoretically and empirically broadly based recommendations and their transfer to teaching and practice are the focus of attention.